Mattern & Craig congratulates Calvin Clifton, Business Development Manager, on his appointment by Tennessee Governor Bill Lee to serve a four-year term on the Tennessee Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations – also known simply as TACIR.  Governor Lee appointed Clifton to serve in the role as a private citizen, one of two on the 25 member board.

Clifton has been with Mattern & Craig since 2012 and has worked in the consulting engineering industry for a total of 15 years. In this role, Clifton leads the business development and marketing efforts for the firm’s five offices in TN, VA, and NC.  Prior to this, he was employed by the City of Kingsport, TN in the Transportation and Utilities departments, and served as Public Works Director with the City of Athens, TN.  His public sector career spanned over 15 years.

In addition to this state appointment, Clifton also serves nationally as Chairman of the American Public Works Association Government Affairs Committee.  Locally Clifton serves as Vice-chair of the Kingsport Board of Zoning Appeals; is a member of the Sullivan County Regional Planning Commission and the Sullivan County Emergency Communications District Board.  He is also a member of the Kingsport Kiwanis Club.


The Tennessee Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations (TACIR) was created in July 1978 by Chapter 939 of the Public Acts of 1978. TACIR was created in response to legislative findings in the late 1970s indicating the need for a permanent intergovernmental body to study and take action on questions of organizational patterns, powers, functions, and relationships among federal, state, and local governments.

Consisting of private citizen members and public officials from state and local governments, TACIR “serves as a forum for the discussion and resolution of intergovernmental problems.”  The 25 members of the TACIR capture the richness and diversity of perspectives of private citizens and officials representing different branches and levels of government.  Of the 25-member Commission, 22 members are appointed to four-year terms, while three are statutory members holding membership by virtue of their position.

In total, 10 members of the Commission have local government as their primary affiliation; 11 represent the legislature; two are drawn from the executive branch; and two are private citizens appointed by the Governor.